News & Events



November 6, 2015


See More Photos Here

On October 15, 2015 Community Impact (CI) alumni, board members, Columbia University Trustees and more than 150 guests came together at the Park Café, The Time Warner Center, to pay tribute to this year’s honorees and to celebrate our volunteers’ tireless work in support of our 28 service programs, which directly benefit our low income neighbors in Upper Manhattan.  CI’s guests included Champion donors to Community Impact, Philip Milstein CC ’71 and Mark Kingdon CC ’71, alongside other supporters, volunteers and program participants. The CI community is truly honored to acknowledge these remarkable individuals and to call them friends.  


The evening’s program was emceed by Community Impact Board member and Columbia Trustee Emeritus, George Van Amson CC ’74.  Maxine Griffith, Executive Vice President for Government and Community Affairs at Columbia University and Special Advisor for Campus Planning, received Community Impact’s Making a Difference Award, for her countless contributions to CI, Columbia and the local community.  She received her award from Columbia University Trustee Ann Kaplan MBA ’77 and was especially honored by the attendance of her mentor and good friend, NYC Mayor David Dinkins, and the congratulatory message from Columbia’s President Lee Bollinger.  The Outstanding Community Service Awards, were presented by CI’s Board Co-Chair, Rose Kob CC ’96, to Sam and Nilima Desai of The Desai Foundation and Dan Dolgin CC ’74 & Law ’77 and Loraine Gardner, for their lifelong commitment to service.


The program concluded with remarks from one of CI’s George Van Amson Fellows, Nicole Javorsky BC ’18, who spent this summer working at Harlem Grown, supporting youth projects centered on using technology while teaching nutrition, hands-on farming, environmental sustainability, and providing youth mentorship.  This accomplished young woman, shared her experiences and spoke of her work with amazing clarity and passion. 


One of our honorees, Dan Dolgin, summed up the evening best in remarks based on his imagined “discussion” with Alexander Hamilton, who studied at Columbia College (then called “King’s College”) a quarter millennium ago.  In a revolutionist’s rebuttal to a loyalist’s pamphlet College second-year Hamilton wrote, “…you [must] never entertain a thought that all [people] are not entitled by nature to a parity of privileges.…[N]atural liberty is a gift of the beneficent Creator to the whole human race…civil liberty is founded in that; and cannot be wrested from any people without the most manifest violation of justice.” Community Impact is proud to carry that sense of justice and to help bring a parity of privileges to all those whom it serves.


As Dan so eloquently concluded, “Thank you Hamilton. Thank you, CI.  We have much for which to be grateful.  We have much more to do.”


We thank all who shared the evening with us and generously contributed and helped to raise more than $225,000 in support of our mission and programs. We could not continue to grow this community without you! 


Many Thanks to Our 2015 Gala Supporters



Philip Milstein

Richard & Lisa Witten

Premier Partners

Columbia University Office of Government & Community Affairs

Ann Kaplan

Chicago Title Insurance Company

Prosauker Rose LLP

Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP


Community Supporters

Catholic Charities of the Archdiocese of New York

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP

Dan Dolgin and Loraine Gardner

Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP

Ingram, Yuzek, Gainen, Carroll & Bertolotti, LLP



Michael N. Block, Sullivan, Papain, Block, McGrath & Canavo P.C

Morrison & Foerster LLP

Baker Botts LLP

Kenneth Prewitt and Susan Vogel

Lisa Carnoy

Putney, Twombly, Hall & Hirson LLP

Freidman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP

Rivkin Radler LLP

Greenberg Traurig, LLP

John P. White


Amelia Alverson

Howard Jacobson

Avanessians Foundation

Peter Johnson

O. Roger Anderson

Michele Kaiser

Donna Badrig

Cheryl L. Kunis

Jacqueline P. Blackett

Brenda Levin

Joe Brambil

Keith McDermott

David Buckwald

Novick, Edelstein, Lubell, Reisman, Wasserman & Leventhal, P.C.

Berena Cabarcas

Mark O’Donnell

Robert J. Citrino

Sharon O’Halloran

Maria Davila-Peguero

Don Parker

Jerome Davis

Peter Pilling

Alessandra Di Bello

Philippa Portnoy

Susan K. Feagan

PNC Bank

Ester Fuchs

Michael Rosenthal

Ronen Glimer & Amy Abrams

Robert Shapiro

Lee Goldman

Ellen Smith

Janet Gordon

Esta Stecher

David Greenberg

George Van Amson

Mike Hall

Gail S. Williams

Jesse Horwitz

Thomas Zeng

Elaine Hutchinson


Blue and White Ticket

Karen Jewett


Gold Ticket

Paul Maddon

Rev. Raymond Rafferty

Silver Ticket

Blair Duncan

Donna MacPhee

Henry & Barbara Ginsberg

PNC Bank

John F. Grubin

Vivian Taylor

Bronze Ticket

Baker Botts LLP

Robert Hanning

Barnard College

Howard Jacobson

Columbia University Government & Community Affairs: Barnard College

Mark Kerman

Columbia University Office of Athletics

Rivkin Radler LLP

Thomas Fitzpatrick and Camille Chwalek

Rose Kob and Joseph Sansone

Ross Frommer

Jessica Marinaccio

Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP

Arlene Markowitz

La-Verna Fountain

Judith Pietrasiewicz

Sarah Greenberg

Philip Pitruzzello



Special thanks to all those who purchased and/or donated an item or service in support of the 2015 Gala

Columbia University Office of Athletics

Lia Schorr Skin Care Inc.

Donna Badrig

Pat Lilly

Laurence Bergeen

Rich Lombino

Chef David Bouley, Bouley Restaurant

Jessica Marinaccio

Joe Brambil

Jack Marino

Camille Chwalek

Music Before 1800

Shari Colburn

Jeff Nabi

Dan Dolgin

New York Festival of Song and the Kaufman Center

Judith Dorsey

Sharyn O’Halloran

Darryl T. Downing

Cheryl Parham

The Desai Foundation

Moha  Desai Patel

Jean Esposito, Izzo Construction

Judith Pietrasiewicz

La-Verna Fountain

Peter Pilling

Freidman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP

Michael Ramsey

Henry Ginsberg

Aubrey Reese

Peter Gottesman

Rachel Rodin

Justine Gozzi

Brian Schlosser

Cynthia Green

Ellen Smith

Maxine Griffith

Charles Sullivan

Mike Hall

George Van Amson

Suzanne Hengl

Victorinox Swiss Army

Ken Heyman

Finn Vigeland

Elaine Hutchinson

Cory Weiss

Elliot Hurwitz, Chicago Title Company

John P. White

Kimara Ahnert Makeup Studio

Kathryn Wolfson

Rose Kob

Wynton Marsalis, Artistic Director, Jazz at Lincoln Center

Cheryl Kunis

Jeffrey Zeiler